About the Museum
The Beginning
Tring was settled a very long time ago and has long wished to have a museum which would tell the story of it's history.

The real beginning was 1994 when Tring Town Council set up the Tring & District Local History & Museum Society.  Fundraising went on for many years, as did the collection of objects, until a suitable building became available and, with the help of the National Heritage Lottery Fund, the Tring Local History Museum emerged.

The Museum tells the story of the town, the area, its history and the many fascinating people associated with it.

The Museum Building in the 1990's before renovation
The Building
The building was originally the office of the Tring Livestock Market in Brook Street.  It is a single story building dating from about 1893.  Originally it had three gables but these were changed to just one at some point.  During the transformation of the building into a museum, the opportunity arose to restore the distinctive three gabled roof and extends the museum with an outer gallery.

When the office building at Tring’s former Cattle Market became available, negotiations took place with Tring Town Council (owners of the freehold) and a lease was signed in 2006.  Fund-raising began in earnest and a turning point was reached a year later when the Heritage Lottery Fund awarded a grant to the society, in partnership with the Town Council, to restore and convert the building to create a museum.  Work began in 2008 and the Tring Local History Museum opened to the public in September 2010.
Operating the Museum
Tring Local History Museum is an entirely voluntary operation.  It depends on its volunteers, needing two stewards on duty at all times.  The Museum is open on Fridays and Saturdays.    

The museum is managed by Tring & District Local History and Museum Society.
The Museum today after the Lottery Funded restoration