The Tring Tiles
During restoration work on St Peter & St Paul's church from 1850-60 a series of stunning medieval tiles were uncovered. The tiles were crafted around 1320 and are in the form of 'sgraffito', a style of decorative artwork on ceramic surfaces that look similar to a medieval illuminated manuscript.

The tiles were in astonishingly good condition, suggesting that they were never intended to be walked on but instead set upon the chancel wall as decoration.

The Tring Tiles were removed from the church in mysterious circumstances and only discovered years later in a local curiosity shop. A Reverend Owen bought the tiles, though he could never get the shopkeeper to confess where he had obtained them.
When Reverend Owen died in 1922 the tiles were sold as part of his household effects and purchased by an antique dealer for 17 pounds. The dealer had the tiles auctioned off by Sotheby's and they were purchased by the British Museum for 1,420 pounds - quite a tidy profit for the dealer.

Most of the Tring Tiles are now in the British Museum in London, though two pieces are on display at the Victoria and Albert Museum.

Thirteen less highly decorated tiles are still in the church and can be seen in a special display case in the Emmie Hobbs room. These tiles, which show geometric patterns and floral designs, were made by the same craftsman in the Buckinghamshire village of Penn and date to the late 14th century.